Becoming an Uber driver is one of the most popular ways to earn money these days, whether you’re simply looking for additional income or planning to make it a full-time business.
According to Uber, there are already over 2 million drivers registered with the company in the world, 750,000 of them are from the US.
Uber drivers, on average, earn as much as $25.00 per hour with an average of 1.3 rides per hour. That gives you a decent income of $90,000 a year!
Interested in becoming an Uber driver? This article will show you how.
You can make money driving around your city using either your own vehicle or a rented one.
As long as you meet all the requirements and qualifications set by Uber, you’re good to go.
The application process is pretty straightforward and convenient. You can register online, set your own schedule and route, and start driving.
Uber Driver Guide
To become an Uber driver, you must be:
- At least 21 years.
- Possess an in-state driver’s license, and be licensed for at least one year. If you’re under 23, you should have been licensed for at least three years.
- Have an in-state auto insurance with your name listed on the policy. Note: You don’t have to be the policyholder.
- Pass a seven-year background check, which covers having no DUIs or drug-related offenses, major driving infractions, reckless driving charges, or fatal vehicular accidents.
- Free from speeding violations in the past three years, and no other criminal history, including felony, theft, burglary or robbery in the last 7 years.
Note that these are just the minimum requirements for most cities.
Depending on where you live, your city might ask for additional requirements.
For example, if you are from Nevada, you will be required to get a Nevada TNC permit sticker along with your Nevada state business license.
If you’re from California, the background check spans 10 years.
Always check with the Uber office in your state or city.
Once you have passed these initial requirements, the next thing you need to do is check if your vehicle is qualified to be used for Uber driving. The minimum requirements for Uber cars are the following:
- The car must be a four-door vehicle – 10 years old or newer.
- It must pass the Uber vehicle inspection.
- It should have in-state license plates with current registration
Once you’ve prepared all the requirements, the next thing to do is to sign up online.
Uber will require you to send photos of your car.
They will be the one to conduct the inspection, which is free of charge, at various locations like Greenlight Spots, Greenlight Hubs, or Inspection Centers.
How to Rent a Car for Uber
If you don’t have a car and you plan to buy one in the future, but you wish to sign up with Uber, you may opt to rent a vehicle through their Hertz or Enterprise programs which are usually offered in select larger cities.
Uber has a special application process for drivers who don’t have their own vehicles. The good news is you don’t need to have your own car insurance. Even more, you can get approved for a rental whether you have bad or no credit history.
The downside, however, of renting a car for Uber is that the weekly rental cost is quite high (about $180/week). Rental cars are also not available in most cities, and in big cities, it can be very hard to get one (you can’t rent a car in advance. It’s always “first come, first served” basis).
Nonetheless, it might be your only option if you are unable to purchase your own car for the time being or if you are looking to try Uber to see if it’s the right job for you.
If you’re renting a car, choose “I need a car” during your sign-up to begin the rental process. Take note the that rental fee is deducted from your pay, and the cost already covers the insurance. Uber rental cars have unlimited mileage and you may have to drive a minimum number of hours.
Uber Price Guide
Luckily, you don’t have to worry about calculating the cost of each ride you take and you don’t even have to inform your customer how much they should pay you.
Once they ‘book’ you, they already know how much the ride will cost them. Passengers will need to download the Uber app to get a fair estimate. Their Uber fare is calculated on the following criteria:
- Base fare – This is the flat fee that is charged from the beginning of the ride.
- Cost per minute
- Cost per mile
- Booking Fee
- Surge/dynamic pricing – a multiplier added to the fare, but not added to any fees
- Tipping (Optional): passengers have the option to tip the driver via the Uber app.
Uber prices vary between cities as well as the type of service customers choose (whether they want Black Car, SUV or UberSelect). The prices may also change depending on the time of day, traffic conditions, and surging.
Becoming an Uber driver is no doubt a great way to earn money without even having to quit your job. As long as you comply with all the requirements listed above, you can get started with your Uber partner-driver application right away.